• Unit 2: Software Development Life-Cycle Models

    The software development life-cycle (SDLC) is the process of planning, creating, testing, and deploying an information system. There are different approaches to breaking down the work when developing software systems. Conceptually, each model provides specific guidance to the sequencing and repeating life-cycle activities to deliver high-quality software systems.

    As you review this unit, try to see the similarities in these categories of life-cycle models. This will help you grasp the basic concepts of SDLC. This unit connects strongly with Unit 9: Project Management, since choosing and managing a software life-cycle process is a central component of project management.

    Completing this unit should take you approximately 4 hours.

    • 2.1: Software Development Life-Cycle (SDLC)

      Life-cycle models describe what activities are performed, group them into phases, specify when and in what order they are performed, and their relationships and iteration. Several software development life-cycle models are described: sequential, waterfall, and iterative. Iterative models include evolutionary and spiral.

    • 2.2: Life-Cycle Models

    • 2.3: Software Development Team Roles

    • 2.4: Software Development Methodologies

    • Unit 2 Assessment

      • Receive a grade