Discussion: Unit 1

Make forum posts: 1

Unit 1 Discussion

Number of replies: 52

What sort of customer service job might you like to find? Would you prefer working in a face-to-face situation, or through a remote customer service center? What industry would you like to work in?

Describe an interaction you've been involved with - either personal or professional. What steps did you take to make a favorable impression? How might you use the lessons from this unit to make even better impressions?

As a customer, what needs and wants do you hope to have fulfilled by customer service providers? Do they match those covered in this unit?

In reply to First post

Re: Unit 1 Discussion

by Michael Bernardi -

I would personally prefer to find a customer service job that is face-to-face. Currently, I work as a server at an Italian restaurant and find myself more comfortable in an in-person setting than over the phone. If I had to pick an industry, I'd try to find somewhere in the restaurant business. 

I've had plenty of interactions working in an environment where I've had to provide customer service to people. One example was when one of my tables had to wait forty-five minutes for their food because unfortunately, the kitchen had made a mistake so we offered to pay for their meal and also offered them a dessert to help hopefully help keep them coming back as a customer In the future.

I would hope that if I talked to a customer service provider about an issue I've had or was having, they would help resolve it in a respectful and considerate manner but also guide me in the right direction in getting my problem solved.

In reply to Michael Bernardi

by Soukaina Farhoun -