• Unit 11: Southeast Asia

    Southeast Asia is the region between China, India, Australia, and the Pacific Ocean. It is a region of peninsulas and islands, and the rural country of Laos is its only landlocked country. The physical geography of Southeast Asia includes beaches, bays, inlets, and gulfs, and thousands of islands. The island of New Guinea has hundreds of local groups with their own languages and traditions. Indonesians, Malays, and Filipinos have many subgroups with their own heritage. The many islands of Indonesia and the Philippines create the opportunity for diversity to thrive in spite of globalization.

    Political borders in Southeast Asia were created by natural features, traditional tribal distinctions, colonial claims, and political agreements. Notably, Indonesia is the fourth-most populous country in the world. We begin this unit by exploring the physical geography of Southeast Asia. Then, we will take a look at the effects of colonialism on the region, and close out by reviewing the many ethnic groups that live within it.

    Completing this unit should take you approximately 2 hours.

    • MapCheck: Southeast Asia

    • 11.1: Introducing Southeast Asia

    • 11.2: The Mainland Countries

    • 11.3: The Islands of Southeast Asia